Brahma Viharas

The Brahma Viharas are practices that help break our reactive habits by fostering loving-kindness, compassion, sympathetic joy, and equanimity. Please see the Brahma-Vihara Foundation for more complete explanations.

The four Brahma Viharas are listed here, along with phrases you can use during meditation, focusing on both others and yourself:

  • Metta (loving-kindess: the practice of wishing one well)

    May you be healthy.
    May you be peaceful.
    May you be safe.
    May you be happy.

  • Karuna (compassion)

    May you be free from suffering.
    Or: Your suffering matters to me.

  • Mudita (sympathetic joy)

    I'm happy that you are happy.
    Or: May your happiness continue.

  • Upekkha (equanimity)

    Things are the way they are.